HOW THEY VOTED: Who Voted to Protect the Unborn Child (1st reading)

August 2019

It was a dark and shameful day today as 94 members of Parliament voted for a radical bill that attempts to remove any legal recognition or protection of the unborn child, and introduces one of the most radical abortion laws in the world.

Below is the voting record. We are very very grateful for the 23 MPs who voted for the rights of the unborn child and the wellbeing of pregnant women, and rejected this bill from the outset. Thank you.

We also note that some MPs will have voted for the bill to go to a Select Committee, but with no guarantees that they will support it after that. It’s disappointing that they didn’t simply ‘kill’ a flawed and dangerous piece of legislation – but their position should be taken in to account.


Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi, Simeon Brown, Gerry Brownlee, Jacqui Dean, Paulo Garcia, Joanne Hayes, Harete Hipango, Melissa Lee, Agnes Loheni, Tim Macindoe, Simon O’Connor, Parmjeet Parmar, Christopher Penk, Maureen Pugh, Shane Reti, Nick Smith, Louise Upston, Michael Woodhouse, Jonathan Young
Anahila Kanongata’a-Suisuiki, Adrian Rurawhe, Jenny Salesa, Rino Tirikatene

(Total 23)


NATIONAL (33 of 55)
Amy Adams, Maggie Barry, Andrew Bayly, David Bennett, Paula Bennett, Dan Bidois, Chris Bishop, Simon Bridges, David Carter, Judith Collins, Matt Doocey, Sarah Dowie, Andrew Falloon, Paul Goldsmith, Nathan Guy, Brett Hudson, Nikki Kaye, Matt King, Barbara Kuriger, Denise Lee, Todd McClay, Ian McKelvie, Mark Mitchell, Todd Muller, Alastair Scott, Scott Simpson, Stuart Smith, Erica Stanford, Anne Tolley, Timothy van de Molen, Nicky Wagner, Nicola Willis, Lawrence Yule
LABOUR (42 of 46)
Kiri Allan, Virginia Andersen, Jacinda Ardern, David Clark, Tamati Coffey, Liz Craig, Clare Curran, Kelvin Davis, Ruth Dyson, Paul Eagle, Kris Faafoi, Peeni Henare, Chris Hipkins, Raymond Huo, Willie Jackson, Iain Lees-Galloway, Andrew Little, Marja Lubeck, Jo Luxton, Kieran McAnulty, Nanaia Mahuta, Trevor Mallard, Stuart Nash, Damien O’Connor, Greg O’Connor, David Parker, Willow-Jean Prime, Priyanca Radhakrishnan, Grant Robertson, Deborah Russell, Carmel Sepuloni, Aupito William Sio, Jamie Strange, Jan Tinetti, Phil Twyford, Louisa Wall, Angie Warren-Clark, Duncan Webb, Meka Whaitiri, Poto Williams, Michael Wood, Megan Woods
NZ FIRST (also want a Referendum)
Darroch Ball, Shane Jones, Jennifer Marcroft, Ron Mark, Tracey Martin, Clayton Mitchell, Mark Patterson, Winston Peters, Fletcher Tabuteau
Marama Davidson, Julie Anne Genter, Golriz Ghahraman, Gareth Hughes, Jan Logie, Eugenie Sage, James Shaw, Chloe Swarbrick
David Seymour
Jami-Lee Ross

(Total 94)

No Vote: MPs who missed the vote by accident were National MP Hamish Walker (trying to vote yes), National MP Alfred Ngaro (trying to vote no) and National MP Jian Yang (unclear)

Similar Posts