Which MPs vote on Referendums based on political expediency, rather than principle

Here’s a list of 49 MPs who voted for a Referendum on euthanasia because they supported euthanasia and knew they had to vote for a referendum to get the law passed, but voted against a referendum on abortion because they didn’t think it was necessary to get the law passed.

In other words, they voted according to getting the result they wanted, rather than on the principle of whether the general public should have a say on such controversial moral issues.

What’s also interesting is that 70% of the MPs who voted for the extreme abortion law were the inconsistent voters below. No principles necessary eh.

Here’s the culprits. Probably no surprises.

Seymour David Act
Davidson Marama Green
Genter Julie Anne Green
Ghahraman Golriz Green
Hughes Gareth Green
Logie Jan Green
Sage Eugenie Green
Shaw James Green
Swarbrick Chloe Green
Allan Kiri Labour
Andersen Virginia Labour
Ardern Jacinda Labour
Craig Liz Labour
Curran Claire Labour
Davis Kelvin Labour
Dyson Ruth Labour
Eagle Paul Labour
Faafoi Kris Labour
Henare Peeni Labour
Hipkins Chris Labour
Huo Raymond Labour
Lees-Galloway Iain Labour
Little Andrew Labour
Lubeck Marja Labour
Luxton Jo Labour
McAnulty Kieran Labour
Nash Stuart Labour
Parker David Labour
Prime Willow-Jean Labour
Radhakrishnan Priyanca Labour
Robertson Grant Labour
Sepuloni Carmel Labour
Tinetti Jan Labour
Warren-Clark Angie Labour
Webb Duncan Labour
Woods Megan Labour
Adams Amy National
Bennett Paula National
Bishop Chris National
Collins Judith National
Doocey Matt National
Falloon Andrew National
Kaye Nikki National
Kuriger Barbara National
Simpson Scott National
Stanford Erica National
van de Molen Timothy National
Yang Jian National
Ross Jami-Lee Ind

To give credit where credit is due, here’s the 59 MPs who voted consistently on referendums, either against them on both issues, or for them on both issues.

i.e. principled & consistent support / opposition for referendums

Clark David Labour
Coffey Tamati Labour
Jackson Willie Labour
Kanongata’a-Suisuiki Anahila Labour
Mahuta Nanaia Labour
Mallard Trevor Labour
O’Connor Damien Labour
Rurawhe Adrian Labour
Sio Aupito William Labour
Twyford Phil Labour
Wall Louisa Labour
Whaitiri Meka Labour
Williams Poto Labour
Wood Michael Labour
Bakshi Kanwaljit Singh National
Bayly Andrew National
Bidois Dan National
Bridges Simon National
Brown Simeon National
Carter David National
Dean Jacqui National
Dowie Sarah National
Garcia Paulo National
Goldsmith Paul National
Guy Nathan National
Hayes Joanne National
Hipango Harete National
Hudson Brett National
King Matt National
Lee Denise National
Lee Melissa National
McClay Todd National
McKelvie Ian National
Mitchell Mark National
Muller Todd National
O’Connor Simon National
Parmar Parmjeet National
Penk Christopher National
Pugh Maureen National
Reti Shane National
Scott Alastair National
Smith Nick National
Smith Stuart National
Tolley Anne National
Upston Louise National
Wagner Nicky National
Walker Hamish National
Willis Nicola National
Woodhouse Michael National
Young Jonathan National
Ball Darroch NZFirst
Jones Shane NZFirst
Marcroft Jennifer NZFirst
Mark Ron NZFirst
Martin Tracey NZFirst
Mitchell Clayton NZFirst
Patterson Mark NZFirst
Peters Winston NZFirst
Tabuteau Fletcher NZFirst



Similar Posts